Every operator running paid or near-paid public robotaxi service in the US as of September 2026. Status tracks how far a service has got toward unsupervised public operation — not how big it is. Active = driverless, no safety operator aboard, and open to the general public in at least one market. Limited = open to the public but still supervised, or driverless for only a subset of vehicles or a restricted group. Preparing = permitted or testing, not yet carrying public riders. A large supervised fleet is still a supervised fleet, so fleet size and city count are reported separately and never set this label.
The clear US robotaxi leader — public rides in 14 US metros and more than 500K paid rides per week. Denver, San Diego and Tampa opened to public riders on September 1, 2026.
- Cities
- Phoenix, AZ · San Francisco Bay Area, CA · Los Angeles, CA · San Diego, CA · Denver, CO · Atlanta, GA · Austin, TX · Dallas, TX · Houston, TX · San Antonio, TX · Orlando, FL · Tampa, FL · Miami, FL · Nashville, TN
- How to book
- Waymo One app (Phoenix, San Francisco, Los Angeles, San Diego, Denver, Miami, Orlando, Tampa, Nashville) · Uber app (Austin, Atlanta — exclusive in those metros) · Lyft app (Nashville)
- Vehicle
- Jaguar I-PACE (primary in-service vehicle); 6th-gen Zeekr-built robotaxi now carrying public riders as the 'Ojai' (since May 28, 2026); Hyundai IONIQ 5 still ramping toward fleet service
- Scale
-
Fleet: 4,000
Weekly rides: 500,000
Weekly autonomous mi: 4,000,000
Expansion: on September 1, 2026 Waymo opened paid, fully driverless public service in Denver, CO, San Diego, CA and Tampa, FL, taking it to 14 US metros. Access ramps on a rolling-invite basis rather than opening all at once, and per launch reporting Denver and San Diego start Ojai-only while Tampa runs a mix of Ojai and Jaguar I-PACE; each city starts with dozens of vehicles. Waymo's own updates page lists all 14 under 'Serving Riders In' (checked September 5, 2026). Las Vegas, NV — the fourth market announced on July 8, 2026 — is NOT among them: Waymo began employee-first, fully driverless rides there on July 8-9, 2026 and it remains employee-first, so it is not counted as a public live city here. Waymo says it received authorization to operate fully autonomously at Harry Reid International Airport (announced August 25-26, 2026), and states it will begin with employee airport trips during a testing phase; under the Nevada Transportation Authority's August 20, 2026 approval, airport service additionally requires authorization from the Clark County Department of Aviation. Waymo's published 'Up Next' list has grown well beyond the four July markets and now names Baltimore, Boston, Charlotte, Chicago, Detroit, Las Vegas, London, Minneapolis, New Orleans, New York, Philadelphia, Pittsburgh, Portland, Sacramento, Seattle, St. Louis, Tokyo and Washington DC (Waymo's own site, checked September 5, 2026) — these are announced intentions, not services, and none should be read as a launch date. Scale provenance: the fleet figure is Waymo's own, reported at more than 4,000 vehicles on September 1, 2026, of which roughly 300 are the 6th-gen Ojai and the rest predominantly Jaguar I-PACE; multiple outlets covering the same disclosure agree on both numbers. Weekly paid rides are still reported at more than 500,000 — no newer figure has been published as of September 5, 2026 — against Waymo's stated goal of 1 million weekly rides by the end of 2026. Waymo reaffirmed its 20+ cities and 1M weekly trips goals, and has passed 20M+ lifetime paid trips. Operational status: Waymo paused public freeway rides in late May 2026 (surface-street service was unaffected throughout) and began restoring them on July 29, 2026 after software updates addressing freeway construction zones — enhanced scene recognition plus routing changes, remedying recall 26E035. The restoration is phased rather than instant: Phoenix went first on July 29, which also restored freeway routing to Sky Harbor, and Waymo said Los Angeles and the San Francisco Bay Area would follow within days. Cities beyond Phoenix remain announced rather than independently confirmed live. Re-checked September 5, 2026: we still found no dated reporting confirming that freeway service actually resumed in Los Angeles or the San Francisco Bay Area. A caution for anyone re-verifying this — searches for Waymo freeway coverage surface a cluster of November 2025 articles about the ORIGINAL freeway launch in those same three metros, which read as current and are not. Treat the restoration beyond Phoenix as unconfirmed until a 2026-dated source says otherwise. Regulatory: NHTSA's July 31, 2026 deadline for AV first-responder remediation plans has passed; no operator's submission has been made public and NHTSA has announced no outcome (see the US regulation section). Rider experience: on July 29, 2026 Waymo added Google's Gemini assistant and a redesigned adaptive three-screen interface (including a 'Calm Mode') to the Ojai — Waymo states Gemini handles cabin controls, trip information and general questions only, does not control vehicle movement or routing, and has no access to real-time driving data. Its 6th-gen Zeekr-built vehicle (the 'Ojai') began carrying public riders on May 28, 2026 in LA, Phoenix, and SF; the Hyundai IONIQ 5 is still ramping toward fleet service (Arizona production expected late 2026). Launched fully autonomous public rides in Nashville, TN on April 7, 2026 (Waymo One app + Lyft). Added a paid 'Waymo Premier' membership ($29.99/mo, invite-only) on June 11, 2026. Airport access includes Phoenix Sky Harbor and SFO. Going international: raised ~$16B (Feb 2026) with London named as its first overseas market and testing underway in Tokyo. Pauses operations during heavy rain or flooding in some metros until conditions clear.
Independent safety research: The first independent per-mile crash benchmark of a driverless fleet was published by the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) on July 23, 2026. Measured per vehicle mile traveled against human drivers in the same cities and years, Waymo's rider-only vehicles were involved in 68% fewer police-reportable crashes overall, 85% fewer single-vehicle crashes, and 81% fewer injury crashes. The metro-level picture is uneven and worth stating plainly: 76% lower in Phoenix, 71% lower in Los Angeles, and 35% lower in San Francisco — but 4% HIGHER in Austin, where IIHS notes the sample was relatively small and draws no firm conclusion. Scope: roughly 50 million Waymo rider-only miles (2021-2024) compared against roughly 222 billion human-driven miles across those four metros. Method: built from NHTSA Standing General Order crash reports, with redundant and non-qualifying records culled and a police-reportability standard then applied — only about 22% of the 736 automation-engaged public-road crashes were judged likely police-reportable, and of Waymo's 89 police-reportable involvements 64 occurred in fully driverless operation. Three caveats are essential to reading this honestly: (1) Waymo is the only operator that publishes the vehicle-miles-traveled denominator, and it supplied that mileage voluntarily, so no other robotaxi operator can currently be benchmarked this way — this finding says nothing about Tesla Robotaxi, Zoox, or anyone else; (2) the Austin sample is small; and (3) IIHS itself cautions that the present data-collection system 'isn't good enough to allow continuous monitoring of a large-scale expansion.' IIHS is funded by the auto-insurance industry; there is no indication that Waymo funded the research.
Seven metros across three states — the widest US footprint after Waymo — and, since September 4, 2026, the purpose-built Cybercab is carrying public riders in a limited part of Austin. The driverless share is still the open question: Tesla began removing safety monitors in Austin in January 2026 on a few vehicles "mixed in with the broader robotaxi fleet with safety monitors", and Tesla does not disclose how many vehicles now run unsupervised. That is why this reads Limited rather than Active: reach is broad, and the Bay Area still requires a safety driver by law.
- Cities
- Austin, TX · Dallas, TX · Houston, TX · Miami, FL · Orlando, FL · Tampa, FL · San Francisco Bay Area, CA (safety driver — CA law)
- Preparing
- Phoenix, AZ — Tesla-confirmed 'Preparations Underway' (Q2 2026 disclosure; no launch date given) · Las Vegas, NV — PERMITTED but not yet carrying public riders: on August 20, 2026 the Nevada Transportation Authority approved Tesla Robotaxi, LLC's Autonomous Vehicle Network Company application for up to 5,000 fully autonomous vehicles across Clark County in the permit's first 12 months. This superseded the interim July 27, 2026 grant, which had been capped at 10 vehicles on the Las Vegas Strip corridor. Service cannot begin until vehicle inspections, insurance and filed rates are complete, and must commence within 120 days of permit issuance.
- How to book
- Tesla app — Robotaxi
- Vehicle
- Tesla Model Y, plus the purpose-built Cybercab since September 4, 2026. The Cybercab — a two-seater with no steering wheel and no pedals — entered the public Robotaxi fleet in a limited area of Austin on September 4, 2026 at 5:00 p.m. CT, the day after an invite-only launch event in Austin on September 3. Riders cannot request a Cybercab specifically; it is mixed into ordinary Robotaxi dispatch, and it is Austin-only. 45 Cybercabs were registered in Texas as of September 2, 2026. It is built at Giga Texas (installed annual capacity above 125,000 units per Tesla's Q2 2026 manufacturing table); Tesla named no further Cybercab cities, gave no expansion calendar, and disclosed no volume-production or consumer-sale date at the launch event.
- Scale
-
Fleet: Not disclosed by Tesla. The best-sourced current figure comes from Texas state registration records: 420 Tesla autonomous vehicles registered in Texas as of September 2, 2026 — 375 Model Y plus 45 Cybercab — first reported by Axios and repeated by multiple outlets citing the same state records. Read it for what it measures: vehicles REGISTERED in one state, which is not the same as vehicles in service, nor vehicles running unsupervised. Earlier counts measured different things again and are kept for trend: 42 vehicles authorized in Texas state filings (electrive, June 2, 2026), and a spread of roughly 20 to 59 through mid-2026 (Bloomberg put the total Texas robotaxi fleet at 59 on June 10, 2026, while trackers counting cars actively running reported far fewer). The SF Bay Area supervised fleet is larger (~100+ per late-2025 reporting). Florida fleet sizes undisclosed. Morgan Stanley projects ~1,500 vehicles by end-2026.
Weekly rides: not disclosed
driverlessVehicles: Tesla does not disclose it, and no independent count covering all seven metros has been published. Every count through mid-2026 puts the unsupervised subset in the low tens — small enough that the driverless share of the map is a fraction of it. We deliberately do not publish a precise figure here: the available counts come from different outlets measuring different things (total fleet vs. state-authorized vs. actively running vs. running unsupervised), they disagree with each other, and the most-cited of them predate the July 2026 Florida launches.
unsupervisedMiles: More than 380,000 cumulative unsupervised miles across six cities in two states — Tesla's own figure, given by VP of AI software Ashok Elluswamy on the Q2 2026 earnings call (July 22, 2026). For scale, Waymo books roughly 4 million rider-only miles per week, so Tesla's entire cumulative unsupervised mileage is under one day of Waymo driving.
Architecturally distinct from Waymo: Tesla deploys the same vision-only neural network used in consumer FSD inside a geofence, rather than relying on HD-mapped cities and lidar — that's the bet that scaling is faster, even if early-rollout reliability metrics lag a more mapped, sensor-rich approach. Florida rollout (July 2026): Tesla went fully driverless from day one in Miami on July 3 — its first market outside Texas and California and the first time it skipped the safety-monitor phase in a new city — then added Orlando and Tampa on July 21, both also driverless day one and hailable through the public Robotaxi app. Per trade press, the new Florida geofences are small: Orlando runs roughly 12-15 sq mi across eastern/southeastern neighborhoods (Conway, Lee Vista) bounded by the Beachline Expressway (SR-528) and the Central Florida GreeneWay (SR-417); Tampa runs roughly 4-5 sq mi over West Tampa, Tampa Heights, and Seminole Heights north of downtown, with the airport excluded (Miami's zone is ~10-20 sq mi of western Miami-Dade near the airport, West Miami, and Doral, excluding downtown and Brickell). The Texas map footprint is large but thin: state filings list 42 authorized vehicles, while independent trackers counting cars actively running reported materially fewer through mid-2026. The SF Bay Area service (running since 2025) is Tesla's largest by vehicle count but requires a safety driver — California still classifies it as a limousine offering rather than a robotaxi and has an open state action over 'Full Self-Driving' marketing. Tesla's own Q2 2026 disclosure makes that concrete: it lists the SF Bay Area status as 'Safety Driver' and cites California charter-party carrier permit #TCP0046782-A — a limousine/chauffeured-transport authorization, not an autonomous-vehicle deployment permit, which is exactly why a human sits behind the wheel there. Musk has tied aggressive scaling to FSD v15 — a model rewrite growing from ~1B to ~10B parameters — pointing to late 2026 / early 2027. On the Q2 2026 earnings call (call-sourced; this detail is not in the written deck) Tesla said the robotaxi fleet is already running early v15 builds, with roughly 40% of 7 planned improvement tracks merged. That applies to the geofenced robotaxi fleet, not to consumer cars: large-scale unsupervised deployment to customer vehicles is still late-2026-at-earliest / early-2027-at-latest. Tesla's Q2 2026 disclosure also states it expanded the unsupervised operating area in Austin during the quarter, and publishes a per-metro status table listing Austin, Dallas, Houston, Miami, Orlando and Tampa as 'Ramping Unsupervised' and the SF Bay Area as 'Safety Driver'. Next markets, now Tesla-confirmed rather than rumored: that same table lists Phoenix, AZ and Las Vegas, NV as 'Preparations Underway' — Tesla's own language — though it gives no launch date for either, so none should be inferred. Supporting groundwork already on the record: on June 5, 2026 Tesla filed for a Nevada Autonomous Vehicle Network Company permit covering Las Vegas (including Harry Reid and Henderson airports) and allowing up to 5,000 vehicles in year one. The Nevada Transportation Authority first granted that application on an interim basis on July 27, 2026 (AVNC Permit 002, docket 26-05015), capped at ten fully autonomous vehicles inside a geofence limited to the Las Vegas Strip corridor, barred from Nevada roads posted above 45 mph, and prohibited from pickups at or within a quarter-mile of Harry Reid International Airport absent the airport operator's authorization. That cap was superseded 24 days later. On August 20, 2026 the Authority voted unanimously to approve full Autonomous Vehicle Network Company applications for three operators at once — Tesla Robotaxi, LLC (up to 5,000 fully autonomous vehicles in the permit's first 12 months), Waymo LLC (1,000) and Aviari Services, LLC, an Uber subsidiary (1,000) — each authorized to carry paying passengers in fully autonomous vehicles across Clark County, subject to the Authority-approved operational design domain. Conditions apply to all three equally: vehicle inspection documentation, insurance, rates filed with the Authority before service, customer-facing app submitted for review, accessibility and nondiscrimination compliance, crash and incident reporting under NRS 706B.260, a 24-hour emergency contact for first responders, and prior Authority approval for any change to the operational design domain. The approved geographic area includes Harry Reid International Airport, but no operator may service the airport without separate authorization from the Clark County Department of Aviation. Operations must commence within 120 days of permit issuance, and no company may carry passengers until every requirement is satisfied. Tesla representatives told the Authority they do not intend to field 5,000 vehicles immediately. In Arizona it has filed a 'Robotaxi First Responder Interaction Plan' outlining a proposed Phoenix-metro service footprint, and trade-press reports put roughly 60 robotaxi-spec Model Ys staged in the Phoenix area. Neither metro is carrying public riders yet.
CYBERCAB IN SERVICE (September 2026): Tesla held an invite-only Cybercab launch event in Austin on September 3, 2026, and the two-seat, controls-free Cybercab entered the public Robotaxi fleet in a limited area of Austin on September 4 at 5:00 p.m. CT. Riders cannot request one specifically — it is mixed into ordinary dispatch — and it runs in Austin only. Texas state registration records showed 45 Cybercabs and 375 Model Ys, 420 vehicles in total, as of September 2, 2026.
FEDERAL CERTIFICATION REVIEW: NHTSA's Office of Defects Investigation opened Audit Query AQ26002 on September 3, 2026, covering an estimated population of 1,000 Cybercab vehicles. The stated scope is the process and technical data on which Tesla relied when certifying the Cybercab, including the extent to which that certification depended on determinations that certain Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards are inapplicable to the vehicle. The context worth understanding is the pathway choice, not a defect claim: a vehicle with no steering wheel, pedals or mirrors can reach the road either through an NHTSA exemption — the route Zoox took on July 30, 2026, which caps a manufacturer at 2,500 vehicles a year — or by self-certifying FMVSS compliance, which is the route Tesla took and which carries no such cap. An Audit Query is an inquiry into that certification record. It is not a finding of defect, not a recall, and it has not restricted Cybercab operation.
CALIFORNIA PERMIT STATUS: Tesla Robotaxi LLC now appears on the California DMV's list of holders of an Autonomous Vehicle Testing Permit (with a driver), on the list as updated August 12, 2026. It does not appear on the DMV's driverless-testing or deployment lists. That is the first DMV rung and it does not change what Tesla may offer the public in California: the Bay Area passenger service still runs under the charter-party carrier permit cited above, with a safety driver in the seat.
Amazon-owned, purpose-built robotaxi. Rides on the Las Vegas Strip stop being free on Monday, August 10, 2026, the date Zoox starts charging fares — its first commercial market, and the first paid service anywhere in the US from a vehicle built with no steering wheel or pedals, made possible by the NHTSA exemption granted July 30, 2026.
- Cities
- Las Vegas, NV · San Francisco, CA (public app waitlist — free) · Austin, TX (early access — employees, family and friends; not open to the public)
- How to book
- Zoox app
- Vehicle
- Zoox purpose-built carriage-style robotaxi (bidirectional, no driver controls)
- Scale
-
Total autonomous mi: nearly 2 million as of March 2026 (Zoox figure; no newer count published, and riders have since grown from ~350,000 to nearly 1 million, so the true figure is higher)
Total passengers: nearly 1 million riders across Las Vegas, San Francisco, Austin and Miami since the free service launched (Zoox figure, reported Aug 5, 2026); Las Vegas alone accounts for 500,000+ rides
Zoox now charges for rides. Because its vehicle has no steering wheel or pedals, Zoox needed an NHTSA exemption from the Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards before it could operate commercially — NHTSA granted one on July 30, 2026, covering up to 2,500 vehicles annually for two years, waiving eight FMVSS (including manual driving controls, mirrors, windshield defrosting and light-vehicle braking systems) and carrying what NHTSA calls an 'enhanced, adaptable oversight structure.' NHTSA describes it as the first commercial exemption of its kind for a purpose-built robotaxi, which is what makes the paid launch a US first for a controls-free vehicle. On August 5, 2026 Zoox announced that paid service in Las Vegas starts Monday, August 10, 2026 — its first commercial market after roughly a year of free public rides. How the fare works, per Zoox: a base fare plus distance and time from pickup to drop-off, calculated on the best available route at the moment of booking and shown in full before the rider confirms; if the vehicle then takes a different or longer route, the rider still pays the quoted price. Destination fees apply on top for certain high-traffic locations — Harry Reid International Airport, Sphere and T-Mobile Arena. Zoox declined to publish a base fare and would only say it aims to be competitive with the 'comfort' tier of ride-hailing (the tier above UberX); no verified dollar figure or percentage exists yet, so none is stated here. Airport rides are still test-only, so the airport destination fee applies once public airport service opens. Paid service is Las Vegas only for now: Zoox needs state and local approvals to charge fares anywhere else, and California specifically still requires driverless deployment permits from the CPUC and the DMV, so the federal exemption alone does not open that market. Las Vegas service area more than doubled in March 2026 (Convention Center + Strip hotels). San Francisco is open to the general public, but gated and free. Anyone can download the Zoox app and join the waitlist; Zoox invites riders off it into its "Zoox Explorers" early-rider program, which replaced employee-only access on November 18, 2025. Fares there are not merely unannounced — they are not permitted: the CPUC lists Zoox (TCP 38380) with Drivered Pilot and Driverless Pilot permits only and no Deployment permit, and CPUC rules bar monetary compensation for rides under the pilot programs; the California DMV likewise lists Zoox with a driverless testing permit (San Francisco and Foster City) and no deployment permit. The Las Vegas Review-Journal reported on August 5, 2026 that Zoox has no plan to begin paid service in San Francisco. Its SF service area quadrupled in March 2026 (SoMa, Mission and Design District at launch). Austin is carrying riders but is likewise limited to Zoox employees and their family and friends, with the 'Zoox Explorers' early-rider program planned later in the year — it is not a public market. Miami is also announced as a launch market with a small early-access zone. Unveiled a redesigned production robotaxi on June 24-25, 2026 ahead of series production; its Hayward, CA factory is scaling toward up to 100 vehicles/week. Booking is through the Zoox app; the previously stated summer 2026 arrival on the Uber app has slipped, with Zoox now saying rides become bookable on Uber later this year. Footprint expansion (September 2, 2026): Zoox announced it is adding Houston, TX and San Diego, CA, taking its US footprint to twelve locations. Both start with retrofitted test vehicles and human safety supervisors doing manual mapping before autonomous testing, and Zoox gave no timeline for passenger service in either. Zoox described Houston as its 'most sprawling market to date', citing service-road networks, unusual merging scenarios, severe heat, heavy rain and urban flooding. None of this changes where Zoox carries riders: that is still Las Vegas (paid), San Francisco (free, waitlist) and Austin (employees plus family and friends).
Hyundai-owned, rebooted in early 2026. Hailable on the Uber app across five Las Vegas zones — but with a safety monitor onboard in every vehicle, and driverless service still only targeted for the end of 2026. Reclassified from Active to Limited on 2026-08-21: a fully supervised pilot in one city is by definition less far along than services already running unsupervised, and labelling it Active while Tesla read Limited was inconsistent.
- Cities
- Las Vegas, NV (supervised pilot; driverless targeted EOY 2026)
- How to book
- Uber app (Las Vegas)
- Vehicle
- Hyundai IONIQ 5 robotaxi
- Scale
-
Phase: supervised public pilot — safety monitor still onboard
As of March 13, 2026, Motional's IONIQ 5 is bookable on the Uber app across five Las Vegas zones (Resorts World, Encore, Westgate, Town Square, Downtown) with a safety monitor onboard — a live supervised public pilot, the 'final proving ground' before removing the monitor for the targeted end-of-2026 driverless launch. Aptiv exited the joint venture in 2025; Hyundai is the sole owner and added ~$1B in the reboot (which included deep layoffs and an AI-first perception stack). Re-verified September 5, 2026 against Motional's own news page: nothing has changed operationally. The most recent post is a September 2, 2026 research write-up with MIT on interpretability in deep-learning perception; the most recent Las Vegas announcement is still the March 2026 Uber integration. No driverless transition, no safety-monitor removal, and no change to the end-of-2026 target has been announced.
The other US AV operator — lower-speed transit and paratransit. Reclassified from Active to Limited on 2026-09-05: its Peachtree Corners service, the only driver-out operation that qualified it as Active, is no longer listed among May Mobility's active deployments, and all three remaining US deployments carry an onboard operator.
- Cities
- Atlanta, GA (via Lyft) · Grand Rapids, MN · Eden Prairie, MN
- How to book
- Local transit-style booking via partner agencies; Lyft integration in some markets
- Vehicle
- Toyota Sienna AV minivans (transitioning toward lower-cost platforms with ECARX)
- Scale
-
Focus: Lower-speed shared shuttles, often as on-demand transit or paratransit
footprint: Three active US deployments — Atlanta GA (via Lyft), Grand Rapids MN and Eden Prairie MN — per May Mobility's own locations page, checked September 5, 2026. Everything else the company has run in the US and Japan now sits under Previous Deployments, including Peachtree Corners GA, Ann Arbor MI, Arlington TX, Detroit MI, Martinez CA, Indianapolis/Fishers IN, Grand Rapids MI, and the Japanese sites (Nagoya, Higashi-Hiroshima, Takeshiba and Tokyo Bay).
STATUS CHANGE, 2026-09-05: Active to Limited. This row read Active solely because of Peachtree Corners, Georgia, which launched in February 2025 as May Mobility's first commercial driver-out service, with Curiosity Lab, T-Mobile and the City of Peachtree Corners. As of a September 5, 2026 check, May Mobility's own locations page lists that service under Previous Deployments rather than Active Deployments, its underlying page data flags it as inactive, and its detail page shows operating hours as N/A. Under this page's status definitions, Active requires a driverless service open to the public in at least one market, so the basis for Active is gone.
What is NOT established: May Mobility has announced no end date and issued no statement, and we found no reporting that the Peachtree Corners service has been discontinued. The company's own site is internally inconsistent — the Peachtree Corners detail page still carries present-tense marketing copy describing free weekday rides from 9:30am to 3pm, while the same site classifies the deployment as inactive. We are reporting the classification, which is verifiable, and not asserting a shutdown, which is not. If May Mobility restores it to active deployments, this row should go back to Active.
What remains: three active US deployments — Atlanta GA (via Lyft), Grand Rapids MN and Eden Prairie MN — all with an onboard operator, which is what Limited describes. In May 2026 May Mobility signed a framework deal with ECARX worth roughly $750M to supply autonomy-enabled vehicles; that is a supply agreement, and the deployed US footprint has contracted rather than grown over 2026, which is worth weighing against the headline number.
Uber's Dallas robotaxi partner, and the busiest US service that is still not driverless: more than 100,000 autonomous rides on the Uber app as of August 2026, every one of them with a safety operator behind the wheel.
- Cities
- Dallas, TX
- How to book
- Uber app (Dallas)
- Vehicle
- Hyundai IONIQ 5
- Scale
-
Phase: early commercial — safety operator still onboard, driver-out planned
rides: More than 100,000 autonomous rides on Uber in Dallas, announced August 14, 2026.
Fleet: About 200 vehicles. Avride states 'over 200'; NHTSA independently estimates the affected population at 200 in its open investigation — two sources agreeing on the same quantity.
miles: Avride reports more than 1.3 million cumulative autonomous miles, roughly 1 million of them in 2026. Company-stated; not independently verified.
Began commercial service on December 3, 2025 in a roughly 9-square-mile zone (Downtown, Uptown, Turtle Creek, Deep Ellum) using a Hyundai IONIQ 5 fleet dispatched through Uber. Rides match normal UberX/Comfort pricing — no premium. Avride announced its 100,000th autonomous ride on Uber on August 14, 2026, and reports a fleet of over 200 vehicles and 1.3M+ cumulative autonomous miles. Driver-out remains planned rather than delivered: as of June 2026 the Dallas vehicles still carried a human safety operator behind the wheel, which is why this row reads Limited rather than Active.
REGULATORY: NHTSA's Office of Defects Investigation opened Preliminary Evaluation PE26003 into the Avride ADS on May 6, 2026, prompted by SGO 2021-01 reports and covering an estimated population of 200 vehicles. The stated subject is ADS "conflict avoidance, driving behavior competence and assertiveness" — specifically lane changes, responding to vehicles in or entering the lane ahead, and responding to stationary objects. A Preliminary Evaluation is an inquiry, not a finding of defect and not a recall. We note it because an open federal investigation into the driving stack bears directly on the driver-out timeline; NHTSA's resume also places Avride ADS operation in Austin as well as Dallas, though Dallas remains its only public Uber market. Re-verified September 5, 2026: nothing has changed operationally. Dallas is still the only public market, the safety operator is still behind the wheel, PE26003 remains open with no finding announced, and the most recent milestone is still the 100,000th ride on August 14, 2026.
A premium robotaxi effort from Nuro, Uber and Lucid. Now carrying select Uber employees in the SF Bay Area with a safety operator aboard, with public rides targeted for late 2026 and Houston named as the second market for 2027.
- Cities
- San Francisco Bay Area, CA (testing) · Houston, TX (testing)
- How to book
- Planned via the Uber app
- Vehicle
- Lucid-based premium robotaxi running the Nuro Driver autonomy stack
- Scale
-
Phase: pre-commercial — employee riders only, safety operator aboard
Fleet: About 100 Lucid Gravity SUVs in the engineering fleet across California and Texas (company-stated).
Nuro pivoted from autonomous goods delivery to licensing its 'Nuro Driver' stack; this Uber + Lucid partnership puts it into premium passenger robotaxi. Autonomous on-road testing began December 2025, and Bay Area public-road testing was announced April 13, 2026. As of August 2026 the service is still pre-public: select Uber employees can hail a Lucid Gravity robotaxi through the Uber app, with a human safety operator behind the wheel. Nuro reports roughly 100 Lucid Gravity SUVs in its engineering fleet, testing 24/7 in both the SF Bay Area and Houston. Public launch is targeted for the SF Bay Area in late 2026; Houston was named the second market in June 2026 with service targeted for mid-2027, supported by a 50,000 sq ft Uber depot due to be operational by early 2027. No public riders yet, which is why this reads Preparing. California permit position, re-verified September 5, 2026: Nuro holds a California DMV DRIVERLESS testing permit (Santa Clara and San Mateo counties) as well as a drivered testing permit, but it does not hold a DMV deployment permit, and reporting indicates it has not yet filed for the CPUC driverless ride-hail authority that paid public service would additionally require. Two permits still stand between the current employee testing and a public Bay Area launch, which is worth weighing against the late-2026 target. Nothing else has changed: still employee riders with a safety operator aboard, still roughly 100 Lucid Gravity SUVs, still Houston targeted for mid-2027.
The long-time supplier of driver-assistance and autonomy tech to other automakers announced on June 16, 2026 that it will run its own robotaxi service, targeting a 2027 US launch. No city named, no vehicles carrying riders.
- Cities
- None yet
- Vehicle
- Not specified for the US service; Mobileye supplies its own Mobileye Drive autonomy stack
- Scale
-
Phase: pre-launch — plans an initial ~100-vehicle fleet in one unnamed US city in 2027, scaling toward ~17,000 vehicles within five years of launch
Listed here for completeness because Mobileye's announcement puts it on both sides of the AV business — continuing to sell its stack to automakers and fleets while operating a competing service of its own. What is actually confirmed is limited: a vertically integrated robotaxi business, an initial fleet of roughly 100 vehicles in one major US city in 2027, and a stated ambition of about 17,000 vehicles within five years of launch. Mobileye has not named the launch city and says further commercial and operational detail will come at a US Capital Markets Day before the end of 2026. Nothing here is a live service — treat it as an announced program, not a competitor you can ride today. Re-checked September 5, 2026: nothing has changed since the June 16, 2026 announcement — still no named launch city, no vehicles carrying riders, and no US Capital Markets Day held.