Tesla
Model X Insurance Cost 2026
Published averages put the Tesla Model X at $4,469–$5,462 a year for full coverage: QuinStreet's Insurance.com and MoneyGeek, both for a 40-year-old driver, 100/300/100 liability, $500 deductibles. Our estimator uses the midpoint of the two, $4,970, which is 42% above the same-basis EV average.
Where the Tesla Model X range comes from
We show a model's insurance cost only when two insurer-data publishers measure the same thing and agree within 1.5 times. For the Tesla Model X they do: the higher figure is 1.22 times the lower.
The midpoint, $4,970, is 42% above $3,490, the midpoint of the same-basis national EV averages (QuinStreet $3,708, MoneyGeek $3,281), which puts the Tesla Model X in our "Above the EV average" band.
What publishers report for the Tesla Model X
National, full-coverage Tesla Model X averages from insurer-data publishers, one per publisher, cheapest first. They use different drivers, deductibles and statistics, so they are not interchangeable; only the two marked "same basis" form the range above.
| Publisher | Annual | Statistic | Driver | Liability | Deductible | Updated |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Compare.com | $3,324($277/mo × 12) | average | not stated | not stated | not stated | August 31, 2026 |
| NerdWallet | $3,531 | median | 35 | 100/300/100 + 100/300 uninsured motorist | $1,000 | April 6, 2026 |
| MoneyGeek same basis | $4,469 | average | 40 | 100/300/100 | $500 | August 24, 2026 |
| Insurify | $4,474 | median | 20-70 | state minimum up to 50/100 | $1,000 | September 25, 2026 |
| Insurance.com same basis | $5,462 | average | 40 (male) | 100/300/100 | $500 | September 8, 2026 |
- Compare.com: The table does not label its unit; we read it as monthly, as the page's other figures are, and multiply by 12.
- NerdWallet: Base 2025 models; rates updated October 2025.
Tesla Model X insurance cost by state (estimates)
Estimate = the $4,970 midpoint × the state's multiplier. Each multiplier is that state's average full-coverage premium divided by the $2,578 US average in CarInsurance.com's state table (updated July 21, 2026). That table prices a benchmark sedan (a 2025 Honda Accord LX), not an EV, and real quotes also vary by city, age, credit and driving record.
| State | Multiplier | Estimated annual |
|---|---|---|
| Louisiana | 1.55× | $7,700 |
| Michigan | 1.54× | $7,650 |
| Nevada | 1.54× | $7,650 |
| Florida | 1.52× | $7,550 |
| California | 1.34× | $6,660 |
| District of Columbia | 1.34× | $6,660 |
| Colorado | 1.23× | $6,110 |
| Delaware | 1.22× | $6,060 |
| New Jersey | 1.21× | $6,010 |
| Texas | 1.20× | $5,960 |
| Oklahoma | 1.16× | $5,770 |
| Arkansas | 1.14× | $5,670 |
| Rhode Island | 1.12× | $5,570 |
| Connecticut | 1.06× | $5,270 |
| Kentucky | 1.02× | $5,070 |
| North Carolina | 1.02× | $5,070 |
| Minnesota | 1.01× | $5,020 |
| New York | 1.01× | $5,020 |
| New Mexico | 1.00× | $4,970 |
| South Dakota | 1.00× | $4,970 |
| Georgia | 0.97× | $4,820 |
| Kansas | 0.97× | $4,820 |
| Montana | 0.96× | $4,770 |
| Iowa | 0.95× | $4,720 |
| North Dakota | 0.95× | $4,720 |
| Arizona | 0.94× | $4,670 |
| Massachusetts | 0.94× | $4,670 |
| South Carolina | 0.94× | $4,670 |
| West Virginia | 0.94× | $4,670 |
| Mississippi | 0.93× | $4,620 |
| Washington | 0.93× | $4,620 |
| Utah | 0.91× | $4,520 |
| Wisconsin | 0.91× | $4,520 |
| Pennsylvania | 0.90× | $4,470 |
| Tennessee | 0.87× | $4,320 |
| Alaska | 0.84× | $4,170 |
| Missouri | 0.83× | $4,130 |
| Alabama | 0.82× | $4,080 |
| Nebraska | 0.81× | $4,030 |
| Wyoming | 0.80× | $3,980 |
| Oregon | 0.79× | $3,930 |
| Maryland | 0.78× | $3,880 |
| Illinois | 0.75× | $3,730 |
| Idaho | 0.74× | $3,680 |
| Indiana | 0.73× | $3,630 |
| Virginia | 0.71× | $3,530 |
| Maine | 0.70× | $3,480 |
| Ohio | 0.69× | $3,430 |
| Hawaii | 0.68× | $3,380 |
| New Hampshire | 0.66× | $3,280 |
| Vermont | 0.64× | $3,180 |
EVs that cost about the same to insure
The models whose published ranges sit closest to the Tesla Model X's, plus a same-brand sibling where there is one:
Head-to-head comparisons
Cross-shopping? These put the Tesla Model X side by side with a rival on range, price and specs:
Estimate your own Tesla Model X premium
Our estimator starts from the $4,970 midpoint and adjusts it for your state, age, credit, driving record and deductible. Treat the result as a rough guide, then compare real quotes.
Use the estimator →Frequently asked questions
How much does Tesla Model X insurance cost?
Published averages put the Tesla Model X at $4,469–$5,462 a year for full coverage. QuinStreet's Insurance.com reports $5,462 (updated September 8, 2026) and MoneyGeek $4,469 (updated August 24, 2026), both for a 40-year-old driver, 100/300/100 liability, $500 deductibles. The midpoint of the two is $4,970. Other publishers measure differently (see the table below): Compare.com $3,324 (average, deductible not stated), NerdWallet $3,531 (median, $1,000 deductible), Insurify $4,474 (median, $1,000 deductible).
How much is Tesla Model X insurance in my state?
Multiplying the $4,970 midpoint by each state's multiplier gives estimates from about $3,180 a year in Vermont to $7,700 in Louisiana. They are estimates: the multipliers come from CarInsurance.com's state averages for a benchmark sedan, not from Tesla Model X quotes.
Is the Tesla Model X expensive to insure?
Its midpoint, $4,970, is 42% above $3,490, the midpoint of the same-basis national EV averages (QuinStreet $3,708, MoneyGeek $3,281). That puts it in our "Above the EV average" band.
How can I lower my Tesla Model X insurance?
Compare quotes from several insurers first: published averages for the same car differ between publishers, and individual insurers differ more. Then ask about a home-and-auto bundle and any EV discount, price a higher deductible you could actually pay after a claim, and ask whether a telematics program would lower your rate. Tesla also sells its own insurance in 15 states, according to Tesla's support pages (September 2026). Tesla publishes no typical saving, so get a quote and compare it.